Regional Cross Country

It was another successful regional cross country meet for the Norton Bluejays at Cimarron. The girls team place 2nd qualifiing for state with 68 points. There was one medalist for the girls. Casey Ambrosier placed 9th with a time of 21:39. Congratulations girls, this is the 9th straight trip to state for the girls cross country team!
The boys team barely missed out on a team trip to state finishing just 3 points out of third. There were two individuals who did qualify for the boys. Ryan Thrailkill finished 4th with a time of 17:56 and Cale Patterson finished 7th with a time of 18:01. Congratulations!
State Cross Country will be at Rim Rock Farm  outside of Lawrence on Saturday, October 31. The boys will run at 10:45 and the girls will run at 1:00.

Good Luck to the Bluejays Cross Country participants at State!

KAY Club News

For KAY Club's 2015 regional project, members will spend Monday, Oct. 26 at the Andbe Home playing board games with residents.

KAY Club is selling Holly until November 1. Nov. 1st.

KAY Club will hold a canned food Volleyball Tournament Nov. 14, 2015. All items will be donated to God's pantry in Norton. 

Kindness Award winners at Eisenhower Elementary
School for the weeks of 

K-Maleah Hempler and Toby Wells
1-Eric Kuhlman and Emma Collins
         2-Noah Bristol and Savana Rumback    
3-Jacque Nairn
4-Jade Bolin
                                      5-Lauryn Schumaker, Dahn Hanlon and Jaelyn Rumback
6-Aaron Estes and Josie Stover

Scholar Bowl at Rawlins County

Our first scholars' bowl meet in Atwood, Rawlins County, was a great success, with both Varsity and Junior Varsity bringing home gold medals!  The junior varisity team was seven and o, and the varsity team was seven and one, which they lost in a tie breaker. Both teams did an outstanding job, and as always, displayed good sportsmanship.
Members of the junior varsity team included: captain Callie Uehlin, Taylor Wahlmeier, Brian Clavijo, Brionnah Fessler, James Sturgill, Micah Kasson and Kailey Gill.
Members of the varsity team included: Philip Boutwell, captain; Kyle Bell, Hailey Branek, Valery Rostek, Kennedy Leibbrandt, Christine Figurski, and Alma Clavijo.

FFA Dairy Judging Results

The Norton Communtiy High School FFA placed 4th out fo 17 schools competing yesterday at District Dairy Judging.  Ryan Johnson placed 1st high individual in the senior division and Hadley Hauser placed 4th high in the Greenhand Division. Congratulations to the Dairy Judging Team!

Parent Teacher Conferences are on Monday, October 19.

No School on Friday, October 16

FFA News

The FFA Greenhands placed first in the FFA Information Contest at Greenhand Conference held in Stockton out of 21 schools competing.  Out of more than 200 contestants, Hadley Hauser placed 1st high individually.  Scott Sansom placed 2nd, Shaelin Beckstrom placed 3rd, Nich Davis placed 4th, Leah David – 5th, Shelby Tanner – 8th and Cale Patterson – 9th.  Cale Patterson also placed 3rd in the Information spelldown.


FCCLA will host a Coat Drive as well as a Prescription Pill Container Collection

Coat Drive Information:  Please bring your clean coats to the football field for the game on Fri, Oct 16th.  We will first make sure that our community has enough coats before sending them on to other communities

Prescription Pill Container:  Landfills do not need medicine containers.  While first world nations throw away perfectly good prescription containers, medical pharmacies and hospitals in Malawi often find themselves with nothing except torn pieces of paper for wrapping medicine for their patients.  This is especially prevalent in rural hospitals and village areas where the poorest people live.  

Bring your empty pill containers to the football field on Friday, October 16.  There will be big boxes available for the coats and prescription bottles at the gates. 


Student All Stars for the month of October at NJHS
7th grade-Dru Kasson
8th grade-Dante Smith

Kindness Award winners at Eisenhower Elementary for the week of October 5-9

K-Weston Stevenson, Katelyn Jones and Justine Baker
1-Atalissa Bradford, Campbell Kleinschmidt and Stratten McKenna
2-Rylan Emerson and Brandy Abel
3-Mercedes Davis, Tyce Melvin, Caleb Sumner and Kenya Goss
5-Johnni Hilbrink

2015 Junior High
District KMEA

Maudina Palmer
Sydney Kleinschmidt
Abby DeBois
Jaida McEwen
Abbey Auker
Sarah David
Olivia Carter
Emily Miller
Hannah Bailey

Congrats !!

See Older Posts...